Social Media Lab’s Director of Research Anatoliy Gruzd Has Canada Research Chair Renewed For Another Five-Year Term

The Ryerson University Social Media Lab is pleased to announce the reappointment of Professor Anatoliy Gruzd to another five-year term as a Canada Research Chair (Tier 2). Professor Gruzd is among a group of 259 new and renewed Canada Research Chairs (CRC) announced this afternoon by the Government of Canada.

The Honourable Navdeep Bains, Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry, today unveiled an investment of approximately $195 million to support new and renewed Canada Research Chairs at 47 institutions across Canada. This investment is complemented by close to $14 million in new funding for research infrastructure to support 57 Chairs at 27 institutions through the Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI). This important milestone underscores the program’s continued relevance and far-reaching impact as the Canada Research Chairs program celebrates its 20th anniversary.

Professor Gruzd’s renewed Chair is in Privacy-Preserving Digital Technologies. He’ll continue his research into the emerging areas of social media data privacy and stewardship and build on his previous work by examining the adoption and use of new privacy-preserving technologies and methods by social networking platforms such as blockchains and differential privacy approaches. “We’re thrilled the work we started five years ago will have support going forward,” said professor Gruzd. The overarching goal of the initiative is to better understand how privacy-preserving technologies can be leveraged to benefit Canadians and organizations and deployed to foster digital innovation while still protecting and empowering data and privacy rights.

Dr. Gruzd, a professor from the Department of Information Technology Management at Ted Rogers School of Management, is joined by 3 peers, newly appointed as Canada Research Chair (Tier 2) at Ryerson University, including Professors Reza Arani and Ali Tavallaei from the Department of Electrical, Computer and Biomedical Engineering, along with professor Damien Lee from the Department of Sociology.

“Congratulations to professors Arani, Lee, Tavallaei and Gruzd,” said Steven N. Liss, Ryerson’s vice-president, research and innovation. “These scholars are advancing critical streams of knowledge that aim to benefit Canadian society across a number of disciplines. The Canada Research Chair program is one of the most prestigious in our country and will provide Ryerson researchers with the resources needed to propel their work forward and contribute to research excellence.”

To learn more about the 4 new Ryerson’s Canada Research Chairs, see:

  • Ryerson University news release here,
  • Government of Canada news release here,
  • Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI) news release here.